postcards from the shower

Image

I’m calling it Postcards from the Shower because, during the time when I wrote the piece, a steamy and scalding hot shower soothed me when nothing else could.

I have Bipolar Type 2 with some anxiety and a little bit of an obsessive compulsive personality. The anxiety makes me shy away from crowds and sometimes a tad agoraphobic. As for the obsessive compulsive bit, it’s not the kind that makes me wash my hands  hundreds of times a day, it’s more subtle than that. You know, like staying up all night photoshopping, for instance. I get incapacitating episodes of depression and untameable episodes of hypomania. Episodes can occur over the span of a few days or even weeks. They can also occur over a period of a day, and in this case are referred to as mixed episodes. Medications do not offer a cure, they only take the edge off.  They’re associated with some not-so-pleasant side effects, and so, offer a trade-off, at best.

I wrote this piece because I want people to understand mental illness, and I believe the only way to really gain an understanding is experientially, through story. And so, this piece tells the story of my mind, and of the chaos that reigns inside it. This piece describes just one facet of bipolar disorder type 2. And I realized just how much it affects my life. That is part of my story too, and I shall continue to write it in this manner.

Download your free copy of Postcards From the Shower here.

About vacantgurl

i sometimes work in my pyjamas, bite ice cream and ride polar bears. okay, maybe not that last thing.

Leave a Reply

